BOE awards Upshur Stars Tuesday evening

November 30, 2021

BUCKHANNON — During the Upshur County Board of Education meeting on Tuesday at Buckhannon Academy Elementary School (BAES), several students were recognized during Upshur Highlights.

BAES Principal Susanne Britton, and Assistant Principal Eric Brand commended their students and awarded them Upshur Star awards for their exemplary contributions to the school.

The following students were awarded for their great work on Student Council:

Braylea Squires, Ella Whitehair, Sofi Chen, Remington Phillips, Alliyah Boylen, Isaiah Cole, Stephanie Seelback, Miley Tallman and Hayden Zickefoose.

BAES’s Safety Patrol Team received Upshur Star Awards:

Isaiah Cole, Macy Collett, Dane Lauer, Mya Loudin, Stephanie Seelback, Miley Tallman, Logan Taylor-Rall, Hayden Zickefoose, Cynthia Cutright, Braylea Squires, Kyzer Tenney, Grayson Rothrock and Halee Wilmoth.

Reporting photos and news stories for BAES, the Pioneer Press Team members were awarded:

Socia Bennett, Alliyah Boylen, Macy Collett, Mason Conway, Lyric Dumas, Emma Hardy, Christopher King, Dane Lauer, Mya Loudin, Kacie Neal, Elizabeth Rader, Stephanie Seelback, Braylea Squires, Miley Tallman, Logan Taylor-Rall, Halee Wilmoth, Ella Whitehair, Ariyonna Bellomy, Emberlee Bennett, Cora Cottrill, Kova Emerich

Tate Keith, Brantley Jefferies, Sydni Landis, Jacob Mackey and Brock Williams.

In addition, two students were awarded for managing the school’s recycling program:

Alliyah Boylen and Jadynn Riffle.

Following student awards, Britton and Bland presented an Upshur Star Award to BAES Music Teacher Brayden Hoffman. Hoffman has been providing music lessons after school each day, teaching students how to play instruments of their choice. Money raised from this program goes back into the Music Department fund to provide more equipment for the classroom.


Video News
More In Homepage