Woman arrested for daytime burglary

© 2017-The Record Delta

BUCKHANNON — A Buckhannon woman has been arrested for several offenses, including allegedly breaking into her mother’s home.
Kristi Rowan, 36, was arrested for daytime burglary, a felony; possession of a controlled substance without a valid prescription; driving while license revoked for non-DUI, third offense; and no insurance, all misdemeanors.
On May 12, Rowan allegedly threw a brick through the window of her mother’s residence on Wamsley Road and gained entry to the residence through the broken window, according to the criminal complaint in the Upshur County Magistrate Clerk’s office. Rowan then allegedly stole a century lock box that contained a 22 Phoenix firearm, an old coin collection and her father’s death certificate. Warrants are pending against Rowan allegedly using her mother’s debit card without permission, according to the criminal complaint.
A neighbor advised investigating officer Trooper C.C. Mayle with the Buckhannon detachment of the West Virginia State Police that he witnessed Rowan coming down the driveway while her mother was away from the residence.
Ten days later, Patrolman Tanner Collins with the Buckhannon Police Department observed a white Subaru with two passengers allegedly not wearing any seatbelts and initiated a traffic stop on Camden Avenue, according to the criminal complaint. Rowan was later identified by her West Virginia ID card and allegedly gave Collins permission to search the vehicle. Collins found an orange pill bottle without a prescription label on it containing five different pills: naproxen, methocarbonol, trazodone, hydroxyzine and topiragamate. Rowan also did not have a valid driver’s license, according to the criminal complaint.
Magistrate Kay Hurst set bond at $45,000.
If convicted, Rowan faces one to 10 years in the state penitentiary for daytime burglary, 90 days to six months and/or a fine of not more than $1,000 for possession of a controlled substance, 30 days to 90 days in jail and a fine of $150 to $500 for driving while license revoked for non-DUI third offense, and a $200 to $5,000 fine for not having insurance.

More In Local News